Nine Australian composers will share in more than $110,000 of funding in order to create new works, thanks to the 2017 Art Music Fund – which returns after a successful inaugural year.

This year’s Art Music Fund recipients are Natasha Anderson, Newton Armstrong, Lisa Cheney, Erik Griswold, Annie Hui-Hsin Hsieh, Eve Klein, Dylan Lardelli, Kate Moore and Eugene Ughetti.

The fund is to “create commissioned work that is complemented by an exploitation program”, which will see works performed in various regions, including the USA, China, France, Ireland, Japan and Austria.

This year’s funded works range from a 40 minute operatic work for children, based on Edward Lear’s poem The Owl and the Pussycat to a live performance combining custom built ice instruments with a frozen performance space.

John Davis, CEO of the Australian Music Centre, said of the selected composers. “These works present a broad spectrum of contemporary practice in Australasian art music. In its second year, it’s fantastic to see the Art Music Fund again reflect the diversity and breadth of the work being created by local composers.”

APRA AMCOS initiated the Art Music Fund in 2016, with support from the Australian Music Centre. In 2017, the Fund received a much appreciated $10,000 boost thanks to an Australian Cultural Fund campaign.