Australia’s most talented composers had their talent recognised this evening, with the 2018 Screen Music Awards being handed out at Sydney’s City Recital Hall.

Staged jointly by APRA AMCOS and the AGSC (Australian Guild of Screen Composers) and presented by Denise Scott, this year’s awards saw Caitlin Yeo and Matteo Zingales crowned the big winners, with each taking out two titled.

Caitlin Yeo’s achievements saw her work on The Butterfly Tree recognised as the Feature Film Score of the Year, while also taking out the award for Best Soundtrack Album.

Likewise, Matteo Zingales’ work on the theme for Harrow took out Best Television Theme, while his collaboration with Antony Partos on Mystery Road was named Best Music for a Mini-Series or Telemovie.

A huge array of other names were also honoured, with Nerida Tyson-Chew’s work on The Deep’s ‘The Missing’ episode taking out Best Music for Children’s Television, and Adrian Sergovich winning Best Music for a Short Film for his work on Lost And Found.

This year’s awards also saw Producer and Director Robert Connolly being given the Distinguished Services to the Australian Screen Award, bestowed upon him by Paper Planes composer Nigel Westlake.

“You would be hard pressed to find another individual who has given voice to the artistry of so many Australian composers,” began Westlake. “A man who has nurtured our community and provided the resources for our local talent to shine and realise their craft so thoroughly and with absolute integrity.”

“The opportunity to work with Rob on Paper Planes was a highlight of my career. He is a filmmaker of the utmost integrity, a storyteller of immense facility, and has always believed in the power of cinema as a force for good.”

Check out Caitlin Yeo’s work on The Butterfly Tree:

2018 Screen Music Awards Winners

Distinguished Services to the Australian Screen Award

Robert Connolly

Feature Film Score of the Year

Title: The Butterfly Tree
Composed by: Caitlin Yeo

Best Television Theme

Title: Harrow
Composed by: Matteo Zingales
Published by: Sonar Music

Best Music for a Television Series or Serial

Title: Picnic at Hanging Rock
Composed by: Cezary Skubiszewski and Jan Skubiszewski

Best Music for a Mini-Series or Telemovie

Title: Mystery Road
Composed by: Antony Partos and Matteo Zingales
Published by: Sonar Music

Best Music for a Documentary

Title: A Stargazer’s Guide to the Cosmos
Composed by: Sean Tinnion

Best Music for a Short Film

Title: Lost and Found
Composed by: Adrian Sergovich

Best Soundtrack Album

Title: The Butterfly Tree
Composed by: Caitlin Yeo

Best Original Song Composed for the Screen

Title: Now I Know from Pulse
Composed by: Oscar Joe Gross
Published by: ABC Music Publishing

Best Music for Children’s Television

Title: The Deep: The Missing
Composed by: Nerida Tyson-Chew

Best Music for an Advertisement

Title: Forty Winks
Composed by: Jackson Milas
Published by: Sonar Music

Most Performed Screen Composer – Australia

Composers: Dinesh Wicks and Adam Gock

Most Performed Screen Composer – Overseas

Composer: Neil Sutherland