The 13th Australian Music Prize (AMP) Longlist has been announced to reveal a list of the best Australian artist albums of 2017.

Of over 400 albums released in the 2017 calendar year, 45 artists are now vying for the $30,000 cash prize, thanks to PPCA.

The expert team of AMP judges, led by Chairperson Dave Faulkner, have included Jen Cloher‘s self-titled record on the longlist, alongside her partner Courtney Barnett and Kurt Vile‘s collaborative record Lotta Sea Lice. 

Jen Cloher said: “The AMP is Australia’s most important music prize because it’s judged purely on artistic merit. Having been both a judge and a nominee, I’ve seen the incredible amount of thought that goes into selecting the shortlist.

“Anyone who lands on there can be assured that it’s no accident. Australians are making some of the best music in the world at the moment. $30,000 can go a long way towards touring and recording your next album – another important reason to get behind the AMP!”

Chris Cowburn from fellow nominated act The Smith Street Band said: “We’re absolutely honoured that our album has been Longlisted for the AMP prize. It’s truly wonderful to be even mentioned in the same breath as so many amazing Australian artists. Best of luck to all the nominees!”

The 13th AMP Longlist:

Alex Lahey – ‘I Love You Like A Brother’