Following a stellar 2017 edition of the APRA Music Awards which saw Flume score three nods, APRA AMCOS have today announced the details of their 2018 awards.

Taking place at the International Convention Centre Grand Ballroom in Sydney’s Darling Harbour on April 10th, the 36th edition of the APRA Music Awards will see honours handed out in a variety of categories, including Songwriter of the Year, Most Played Australian Work, and the highly-coveted APRA Song Of The Year.

This year’s festivities are set to be hosted by none other than Julia Zemiro, who will be making a highly-anticipated comeback as host. “For 12 years as the host of RocKwiz, I have had the sweetest gig: working with six generations of Australian artists, watching them work at close range and learning about their trials and tribulations,” Zemiro explained.

“Hosting the APRA Music Awards is a wonderful celebration of many of these artists, their songwriting skills and the publishers who get them out there. The night itself is a joy: listening to five Song of the Year finalists LIVE, not performed by the artists themselves, but by five different artists. Sometimes an homage. Sometimes a re-invention. Always fascinating. It’s a one-off awards event.”

Likewise, Robert Conley will be returning to the awards for the fourth time as the musical director, showcasing the talent gained from many years of working with countless big names in the music industry both here and abroad.

Also noteworthy is the fact that this year’s APRA Music Awards will be the last featuring CEO Brett Cottle, who leaves APRA AMCOS with 40 years of experience, 28 of which as Chief Executive.

It’s all set to kick off on April 10th in Sydney, with nominees for the award categories being announced on March 15th. Watch this space for more details on who is in the running for some of these highly-sought after awards.

2018 APRA Music Awards

Tuesday, April 10th
International Convention Centre Grand Ballroom, Sydney, NSW

(Nominees announced March 15th)

2018 APRA Music Awards Categories

Song of the Year
Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music*
Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year*
Songwriter of the Year*
Overseas Recognition Award*
Most Played Australian Work
Most Played Australian Work Overseas
Country Work of the Year
Blues & Roots Work of the Year
Dance Work of the Year
Rock Work of the Year
Pop Work of the Year
Urban Work of the Year
International Work of the Year
Licensee of the Year*

(*These awards are determined by the APRA Board of Publisher and Writer Directors)

2018 APRA Song Of The Year contenders

‘Boys Will Be Boys’ – Stella Donnelly | Stella Donnelly
‘Cadillac’ – All Our Exes Live In Texas | Katherine Wighton, Hannah Crofts, Georgia Mooney, Elana Stone
‘Everyday’s The Weekend’ – Alex Lahey | Alex Lahey
‘Fallin’’ – Jessica Mauboy | Kayla Bonnici, Louis Schoorl, Peter Harding
‘Firewood And Candles’ – Paul Kelly | Paul Kelly, William Harris Miller
‘Forgot Myself’ – Jen Cloher | Jen Cloher
‘Hold It Together’ – Dan Sultan | Dan Sultan, Alexander Burnett
‘Isn’t It A Pity’ – Bernard Fanning | Bernard Fanning
‘Lay It On Me’ – Vance Joy | James Keogh, Dave Richard Bassett
‘Mended’ – Vera Blue | Andrew Macken, Thomas Macken, Samuel Telford, Celia Pavey pka Vera Blue, Adam Anders
‘Murder To The Mind’ – Tash Sultana | Tash Sultana
‘Running Second’ – Ainslie Wills | Ainslie Wills, Lawrence Folvig
‘Sleep Drifter’ – King Gizzard And The Lizard Wizard | Stu Mackenzie
‘Snow’ – Angus And Julia Stone | Angus Stone, Julia Stone
‘Strangers Kiss’ – Alex Cameron | Alex Cameron
‘That Far’ – 6lack | Trevor Slade, Daniel Cartisano, Ricardo Valentine Valdez JR, Lucian Blomkamp
‘Weekends’ – Amy Shark | Amy Billings
‘What Can I Do If The Fire Goes Out?’ – Gang Of Youths | David Le’Aupepe
‘Yesterday’ – 360 (feat. Hein Cooper) | Kaelyn Behr, Matthew Colwell, Martin Nicholas, Hein Cooper
‘Youth’ – Tim Rogers | Tim Rogers