Chris Murphy’s Petrol Records is firing up with country trio The Buckleys, the first band signed to it since Universal Music Group acquired a 50 percent stake in the label three years ago.

Hailing from Byron Bay, the teenage sibling trio comprises Sarah Grace Buckley (lead vocals and songwriter, acoustic guitar), Lachlan Buckley (electric guitar, slide guitar) and Molly Buckley (vocals, mandolin).

“After meeting The Buckleys I was compelled to not only sign them, but to find a unique, creative space for them,” comments Murphy, chairman and CEO of Murphy Petrol Group and the architect of INXS’ barnstorming career. “The Buckleys are the superstars of the future and alongside stablemates, INXS, they are primed for success.”

Petrol Records logo
Petrol Records

Their debut Petrol release ‘Daydream‘ was produced by Chad Carlson, engineer for Taylor Swift’s first four albums, and arrived Tuesday (June 18) across all digital music platforms.

‘Daydream’ is accompanied by a music video directed by Australian actor Brenton Thwaites (Slide, Pirates of the Caribbean, Maleficent, DC Titans), who also appears in it.

The Buckleys’ touring and music release plans will be announced in due course.