More than five years after her untimely passing, the Divinyls’ Chrissy Amphlett is set to be inducted into The Age Music Victoria Hall of Fame next month.

Just a matter of weeks ago, the nominees for this year’s The Age Music Victoria Awards were announced. Back for its thirteenth year, this round of awards sees a number of hugely talented artists scoring nods, including Courtney Barnett and Baker Boy, who lead the charge with five nominations each.

However, we’ve now learnt that this year will see a rather special event taking place, with musical icon Chrissy Amphlett being inducted into the Hall of Fame.


Following on from Molly Meldrum’s early induction last month, Amphlett is set to be inducted when the awards are handed out on November 21st.

“Chrissy had a wicked sense of humour and was the first of our female rock singers who really came into their own, she began it all,” explained Chrissy Amphlett’s cousin, Little Pattie, to the Sydney Morning Herald.

”I miss her like mad, we can’t have a laugh and a giggle like we use to,” she continued, ”but Chrissy’s great musical ability, her influence on female performers and probably male performers too … there was no one like her and this (induction) is very special for us, her family.”

Having formed the Divinyls with guitarist Mark McEntee back in 1980, Chrissy Amphlett was arguably one of the most prominent frontwomen in Aussie rock music, turning heads for her stunning vocal delivery, and iconic school uniform costume.

Tragically, following her retirement from music in 2011, Amphlett passed away from breast cancer in 2013, aged 53. Since then, Chrissy Amplett’s legacy has continued, notably in the I Touch Myself Project, which urges women to check themselves for breast cancer.


”Chrissy has a Melbourne street named after her and a mural in her hometown of Geelong, and it’s about time she was inducted into The Age Music Victoria Hall of Fame,” explained Music Victoria chief executive Patrick Donovan.

”While she may have left us five years ago, her influence lives on in acts such as (best live band nominee) Amyl and the Sniffers, Ella Hooper and Dallas Frasca.”

Likewise, Killing Heidi’s Ella Hooper also sung the praises of the musical icon, revealing she’s proud to be singing one of Chrissy Amphlett’s songs at her induction next month.

”Often spoken of as a great female front woman, she is actually one of the greatest front people ever,” explained Ella Hooper. “Her singing is incredible, she was so creative in the use of her incredible pipes.”

Chrissy Amphlett is set to be inducted into The Age Music Victoria Hall of Fame on November 21st.

Check out the Divinyls’ ‘Boys In Town’:


The Age Music Victoria Awards 2018 Nominees

Public-Voted Nominees

The Premier’s Prize for the Best Victorian Album of 2018 – $10,000 Cash Prize

Camp Cope – How To Socialise & Make Friends
Courtney Barnett – Tell Me How You Really Feel
Laura Jean – Devotion
Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever – Hope Downs
Sampa The Great – Birds And The Bee9

Best Band

Camp Cope
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard
Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever
Tropical F*ck Storm

Best Song

Baker Boy – Marryuna
Camp Cope – The Opener
Courtney Barnett – Nameless, Faceless
Laura Jean – Girls On The TV
Mojo Juju – Native Tongue

Best Solo Artist

Alex Lahey
Angie McMahon
Baker Boy
Courtney Barnett
Laura Jean
Mojo Juju
Sampa The Great
Tash Sultana
Vance Joy

Best Male Musician

Danzal Baker (Baker Boy)
Didirri Peters (Didirri)
Gareth Liddiard (Tropical F*ck Storm)
Jake Robertson (School Damage, Alien Nosejob)
Tom Iansek (No Mono)

Best Female Musician

Courtney Barnett
Erica Dunn (Tropical F*ck Storm, MOD CON, Palm Springs)
Laura Englert (Laura Jean)
Mojo “Juju” Ruiz De Luzuriaga (Mojo Juju)
Sampa Tembo (Sampa The Great)

The Premier’s Prize for the Best Victorian Breakthrough Act of 2018 – $5000 Cash Prize

Angie McMahon
Baker Boy

Best Live Act

Amyl And The Sniffers
Baker Boy
Cable Ties
Courtney Barnett
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard

Best Small Venue (under 500 capacity)

The Gasometer, Collingwood
Howler, Brunswick
Northcote Social Club, Northcote
The Old Bar, Fitzroy
The Tote, Collingwood

Best Large Venue (over 500 capacity)

170 Russell, Melbourne
Corner Hotel, Richmond
The Croxton Bandroom, Thornbury
Hamer Hall, Southbank
Melbourne Recital Centre, Southbank

Industry-Voted Nominees

Best Festival

Golden Plains
Meredith Music Festival
Sugar Mountain
Wet Fest

Best Regional/Outer Suburban Act

Benny Walker
Freya Josephine Hollick
High Tension
This Way North

Best Regional/Outer Suburban Venue (Over 50 gigs per year)

Barwon Club, South Geelong
Caravan Music Club, Bentleigh East
Karova Lounge, Ballarat
Sooki Lounge, Belgrave
The Workers Club, Geelong

Best Regional/Outer Suburban Venue (Under 50 gigs per year)

Aireys Pub, Aireys Inlet
Blues Train, Queenscliff
Meeniyan Town Hall, Meeniyan
Theatre Royal, Castlemaine
Wandi Pub, Wandiligong

Archie Roach Foundation Award for Emerging Talent

Alice Skye
Baker Boy
Willow Beats

Best Blues Album

Collard Greens And Gravy – Luedella
Fiona Boyes – Voodoo In The Shadows
Lloyd Spiegel – Backroads
Rhythm X Revival – Rhythm X Revival
Steve Boyd’s Rum Reverie – Hoodoo Hipshake

Best Country Album

Ben Mastwyk & The Millions – Winning Streak
Freya Josephine Hollick – Feral Fusion
Greta Ziller – Queen Of Boomtown
James Ellis &; The Jealous Guys – It’s Ain’t Texas (But It Ain’t Bad)
Michael Waugh – The Asphalt & The Oval

Best Electronic Act

Alice Ivy
Cale Sexton

Best Experimental or Avant-Garde Act

Aviva Endean
Maria Moles
Nat Grant
Romy Fox

Best Folk or Roots Album

Cat Canteri – Inner North
Lucy Wise – Winter Sun
Luke Plumb & The Circuit – Turn & ReTurn
Michael Waugh – The Asphalt & The Oval
Trouble In The Kitchen – The Score

Best Global Act

Cool Out Sun
Digital Afrika
Mojo Juju
Senegambian Jazz Band
Xylouris White

Best Heavy Album

Dangerous Curves – So Dirty Right
Dream On Dreamer – It Comes And Goes
Encircling Sea – Hearken
High Tension – Purge
YLVA – Meta

Best Hip Hop Act

Baker Boy
Jordan Dennis
Sampa The Great

Best Jazz Album

30/70 – Elevate
Barney McAll – Hearing The Blood
Menagerie – The Arrow Of Time
Origami – Wu Xing – The 5 Elements
Sam Anning Sextet – Across A Field As Vast As One

Best Reggae and Dancehall Act

Marvin Priest & Rik-E-Ragga
Melbourne Ska Orchestra
Monkey Marc
Ras Jahknow
Yaw Faso

Best Rock/Punk Album

Camp Cope – How to Socialise & Make Friends
Divide and Dissolve – Abomination
Little Ugly Girls – Little Ugly Girls
Sarah Mary Chadwick – Sugar Still Melts In The Rain
Tropical F*ck Storm – A Laughing Death in Meatspace

Best Soul, Funk, RnB Album

30/70 – Elevate
The Bamboos – Night Time People
Billy Davis – A Family Portrait
Mildlife – Phase
Sampa The Great – Birds and The BEE9

Voting is open now at the Music Victoria website, and closes at midnight on Friday, November 9th

The Age Music Victoria Awards

Wednesday, November 21st, 7pm
Melbourne Recital Centre, Melbourne, VIC