The finalists of the 2017 National Indigenous Music Awards have been announced today, with many of Australia’s finest Indigenous artists being recognised for their stellar contributions to Aussie music over the last year, and for their role in furthering Indigenous music in mainstream Australian culture.

Announcing the finalists today, the National Indigenous Music Awards also paid tribute to the recent passing of Dr. G. Yunupingu, who was a 14-time NIMA recipient, and also the 2016 NIMA Artist of the Year.

Fresh from sweeping the pool at the AIR Awards on Thursday night, A.B. Original lead this year’s nominations, with four nods for their debut record ‘Reclaim Australia’, and it’s lead single ‘January 26’. The event will also see the duo team up with Dan Sultan for a performance on the night, as they celebrate nominations for Album, Artist, Film Clip, and Song Of The Year.

Troy Cassar-Daley also received three nominations, for Artist, Album, and Song Of The Year, thanks to his track ‘Things I Carry Around’. Further Song Of The Year nominees also include Leah Flanagan, and Lonely Boys, while Leah Flanagan also received a nod for Artist Of The Year.

Nominations for this year’s prestigious New Talent Of The Year award are shared between four amazing up-and-coming artists, including Apakatjah, Electric Fields, Emily Wurramara, and Tia Gostelow, all of which are hugely talented artists, completely deserving of the prestigious award.