AIR CEO Maria Amato, WAM CEO Mike Harris, Ed St. John from the Ethics Council and MusicSA CEO Lisa Bishop are among a 20-strong Juror Council set to take part in the inaugural Australian Women in Music Awards (AWMA).

Chaired by Martine Cotton, the Founder and Director of Music Industry Inside Outthe Council will work collaboratively to decide the winners for the 14 award categories. The categories acknowledge and celebrate first nations and multicultural performers, excellence in artistry, technical and production skills, cross-cultural development, song-writing, music education, music photography, management, humanitarian work and more.

Martine Cotton, the Founder and Director of Music Industry Inside Out
Martine Cotton, Founder and Director, Music Industry Inside Out

The Jurors will be assigned to sub committees, to reflect their expertise, and will shortlist three winners in each category. The shortlist is to be announced on September 3.

Following that, the Juror Council will then select a winner in each category to be announced at the Awards on Wednesday October 1o at the Brisbane Powerhouse.


AWMA Juror Council Chair Martine Cotton ~ Founder/Director Music Industry Inside Out (QLD)

Dom Alessio ~ Sounds Australia (NSW)

Maria Amato ~ CEO AIR (VIC)

Moira Bennett ~ Producer ‘At Last’: The Etta James Story, Digital Producer (UK)

Lisa Bishop ~ CEO MusicSA (SA)

Kerry Digby ~ Remote Tour Manager & Producer (NT)

Brigid Dixon ~ Lawyer, The Mushroom Group (VIC)

Dr Narelle Gee ~ Former Head Programmer RAGE, QUT Academic (QLD)

Jana Gibson ~ Director Writer Services APRA AMCOS (NSW)

Laura Harper ~ CEO MusicTAS (Tasmania)

Mike Harris ~ CEO Western Australian Music Association (WA)

Georgia Kennedy ~ WAM Development Manager (WA)

Fenella Kernebone ~ Head, Curation TEDX Sydney, former ABC Broadcaster (NSW)

David Leha (Radical Son) ~ Artist/First Nations Regional & Remote Facilitator (NSW)

Chris O’Neill ~ APRA AMCOS National Manager, Writer Services/Music Victoria Board Director (VIC)

Ben Pierpoint ~ Manager Positive Feedback/Live Performance Producer (NSW)

Kim Pengelly ~ General Manager QMusic (QLD)

Milyika Scales ~ Producer, Desert Divas MUSIC NT (NT)

Ed St. John ~ Former Record Company Executive, Executive GM Ethics Council (NSW)

Dr Diana Tolmie ~ QLD Conservatorium (QLD)

Margaret Urlich ~ Artist & Music Educator (NSW)

The Australian Women in Music Awards categories are:

Lifetime Achievement Award

Presented to a female artist or musician who has made outstanding artistic contribution to the field of recording and/or live performance during her lifetime.

Educator Award

Recognises an individual who has made a significant and lasting contribution to the field of music education and/or to empowering Indigenous female artists in remote and regional communities.

Diversity in Music Award

Recognises individual artists or female-driven musical collaborations for their contribution to advancing a culturally diverse and inclusive music industry.

Auriel Andrews Memorial Award

Recognises a true pioneer of Aboriginal women in music.

Studio Production Award

Recognises a female sound engineer or producer who has made contributions of outstanding significance in the studio recording environment.

Live Production Award

Recognises a female working in a live production or touring environment making significant impact in her field: Includes Tour Management, Live Sound, Lighting, Backstage and Roadcrew.

Music Leadership Award

Recognises a female CEO, Managing Director, Label Manager, A&R Director, Artist Manager or Publisher making significant impact in music industry leadership.

Songwriter Award

Recognises a female songwriter or composer who has made extraordinary impact nationally and/or internationally in the past 12 months.

Breakthrough Artist Award

Recognises a female artist who has had a significant breakthrough impact nationally in the past 12 months.


Music Photographer Award

Recognises a female music photographer currently working in the field and to acknowledge her body of work.


Film-maker Award

Recognises a female music videographer, clip-maker or film-maker currently working in the field and to acknowledge her body of work.

Artistic Excellence Award

Recognises exceptional creative achievement from a female artist/musician across any genre.

Creative Leadership Award

Creative Leadership Award is a curatorial award recognising excellence in creative programming and/or content creation from a woman working in a music festival, live performance/venue or media setting to champion female artists. (includes: Content Directors, Artistic Directors, Festival Directors, band bookers, broadcasters, writers and publicists).

Musical Excellence

Recognises exceptional musicianship from a female musician across any genre.

The AWMAs launched with a united from the music industry with Tina Arena, Deborah Conway, Kate Ceberano, Katie Noonan, Christine Anu, Clare Bowditch, Isabella Manfredi, Jen Cloher, and APRA Chair Jenny Morris all backing the initiative.