Kylie Minogue’s golden form continues, with the Aussie pop legend scoring a nomination for the 2019 Helpmann Awards, the annual celebration of excellence and achievement across all aspects of live performance.

Kylie, whose 2018 studio album Golden went to No. 1 in the U.K. and Australia, sees her Golden Tour nominated for Best Australian Contemporary Concert, a category in which she’ll face off against Paul Kelly and Frontier Touring (for Making Gravy 2018), Tim Minchin and Live Nation Australiasia (for Back) and Darwin festival and RPM Records and Bad Apples (for RPM vs Bad Apples).

Frontier racks up three of the four nominations for Best International Contemporary Concert, with productions for David Byrne, the Killers and Celine Dion (Frontier Touring, Concerts West and AEG Presents) competing against Christine and the Queens and Perth Festival.

Evelyn Richardson
Evelyn Richardson

Meanwhile, best Contemporary Music Festival will be contested by WOMADelaide Foundation; Museum of Old and New Art (MONA); Vivid Live 2018 and the Sydney Opera House Presents; and CMC Chugg Entertainment and Rob Potts Entertainment Edge.

Nominations in 42 categories were unveiled overnight during functions held simultaneously across each of the big five cities.

Now in its 19th year, the Helpmann Awards are presented by Live Performance Australia, the peak body for live entertainment industries.

Kev Carmody
Kev Carmody

Over the past18 years the Helpmann Awards have had 12,000 entries and announced over 2,900 nominees, notes LPA CEO Evelyn Richardson, which she says “highlight the artistry and excellence in Australia’s dynamic live performance industry which is enjoyed by over 18 million people each year.”

The annual Helpmann Awards will be presented in Victoria for the very first time on July 14 and 15 at Arts Centre Melbourne.

As previously reported, legendary singer songwriter Kev Carmody will be presented on night two with the 2019 JC Williamson Award, an honour that recognises an individual who has made an “outstanding contribution to the Australian live entertainment and performing arts industry and shaped the future of the industry.

Past recipients include the Dame Joan Sutherland and Jimmy Little, Kylie Minogue, Paul Kelly and Mushroom Group fonder Michael Gudinski.

For the full list of nominations visit