Following the announcement of the nominees of the 2017 Screen Music Awards last week, APRA AMCOS and the AGSC have today announced Martin Armiger as the recipient of their newest honour, the Distinguished Services to the Australian Screen Award.

Beginning his career as a member of the Melbourne rock band The Sports, Martin Armiger made his move into the world of film and television compositions with the short film Drac. In addition to serving as the musical director for the ABC series Sweet And Sour, Armiger also handled the musical direction for a number of television series and short films.

Some of Armiger’s works include films such as Thank God He Met Lizzie, Young Einstein, and numerous kitelevision series, including The Secret Life Of UsBodysurfers, and Police Rescue. In addition to this work, Martin Armiger also served as the president of the Australian Guild of Screen Composers for seven years.

“I am awed and humbled, shocked and delighted and very proud to be the inaugural recipient of this award,” said Martin Armiger of the award. “Can you be humble and proud at the same time? Well if you can be, I am. I want to say a thousand ‘thank yous’ to APRA and the Guild for their support over a long period.”

The 2017 Screen Music Awards will be handed out at the Melbourne Recital Centre on November 13th, with the evening’s proceedings being hosted by actor, comedienne, and writer Denise Scott, with musical direction being handled by Jessica Wells. This year’s event also marks the first time in two years that the Screen Music Awards have been handed out in Melbourne.