The Songwriters Hall of Fame have announced the nominees for its 2019 induction ceremony.

While the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame tends to make the headlines for a variety of infamous reasons each year, its less-publicised predecessor often gets overlooked. Now, the Songwriters Hall of Fame have unveiled the list of nominees who will go on to make up their class of 2019.

As Billboard reports, this year’s list of nominees include a rather historic inclusion, with Missy Elliott becoming the first female rapper nominated in the Hall of Fame’s history.

If inducted, Missy Elliott would become the third rapper to enter the Songwriters Hall of Fame, following Jay-Z’s 2017 induction, and Jermaine Dupri earlier this year.

Other nominees for this year include Mariah Carey, Chrissie Hynde, Vince Gill, Mike Love, Jimmy Cliff, Jeff Lynne, Cat Stevens, John Prine, Lloyd Price, Tommy James, and Annie Lennox and Dave Stewart from Eurythmics.

As always, a series of non-performers have also been nominated, including Jack Tempchin and Jerry Fuller, while non-performing songwriting duos such as Dan Penn and Spooner Oldham, and Dean Pitchford and Michael Gore have also been recognised.

Six nominees are set to be inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame on June 13th, 2019, when their 50th annual awards ceremony takes place in New York. Incidentally, this will also mark the tenth anniversary of the Hall of Fame’s physical existence, with a museum in Los Angeles’ Grammy Museum having opened back in 2010.

Songwriters become eligible for induction into the Hall of Fame after having written hit songs for at least 20 years.

Check out Missy Elliott’s ‘Get Ur Freak On’:


2019 Songwriters Hall of Fame nominees:


Missy Elliott
Mariah Carey
Chrissie Hynde
Vince Gill
Mike Love
Jimmy Cliff
Jeff Lynne
Cat Stevens
John Prine
Lloyd Price
Tommy James
Eurythmics (Annie Lennox and Dave Stewart).


Jack Tempchin
Dean Dillon
Jerry Fuller
Tom T. Hall
Roger Nichols
Dallas Austin

Non-Performing Songwriting Duos

P.F. Sloan and Steve Barri
Russell Brown and Irwin Levine
Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty
Dean Pitchford and Michael Gore
Dan Penn and Spooner Oldham
Bobby Hart and Tommy Boyce.