With tickets on sale as of today, the National Indigenous Music Awards have announced a stacked live performance line up, featuring Jessica Mauboy, Dan Sultan and loads more.

The iconic Darwin Amphitheatre has been selected as this year’s venue, where Australia’s best Indigenous musical performers will be celebrated.

Joining Mauboy and Sultan on the already large lineup will be none other than Electric Fields, rapper Tasman Keith, Spinifex Gum, Yorta Yorta singer Deborah Cheetham, violinist Eric Avery, and Larrakia nation’s enbi Dancers.

With nominations for the prestigious awards now open, NIMAs are encouraging the public to nominate any Indigenous album or single released after the 1st of June in 2018.

These awards come shortly after the launch of the National Indigenous Music Chart, which has given a weekly insight into into Indigenous Australian musicians’ achievements. Not only have they celebrated popular names like Jessica Mauboy, Busby Marou, Briggs and Thelma Plum, but they’ve also put the spotlight on emerging artists like Kaiit, Drmngnow and Dallas Woods.

Not only did last year’s awards see the late Gurrumul’s incredible work recognised in the culmination of an award, they also saw incredible performances from Baker Boy and Busby Marou.

For this year’s NIMAs voting, awards will be given on a 50/50 scale, where 50% of votes come from a panel of well-known Indigenous Australians and community leaders, and 50% come from a panel of Indigenous and non- Indigenous media and music industry representatives.

Never miss industry news

Get the latest music industry news, insights, and updates straight to your inbox. Learn more

NIMAs will be taking place August 10 at the Darwin Amphitheatre. In the meantime, why not nominate your favourite Indigenous Australian album or single?

Watch Jessica Mauboy’s video for ‘Sunday’: