The National Indigenous Music Awards have announced their 2018 finalists and performers. The NIMAs are celebrating their 15th birthday this year and have a lot to be excited about.

Performers at the ceremony are set to include Busby Marou, Baker Boy, Kasey Chambers with Alan Pigram. Baker Boy and Busby Marou are also finalists, up for 2 of the same NIMAs. Baker Boy is also nominated for best new talent. Other nominees include Dan Sultan, Gurrumul, Jessica Mauboy, and Alice Skye.

“The growth in the National Indigenous Music Awards has mirrored the growth of Indigenous music
more generally over the last fifteen years,” says NIMA Reference Group Chair Warren H. Williams. The awards will celebrate everything NIMA has accomplished in these years.

The NIMAs have become a platform for Indigenous music, and is responsible for growth in funding and recognition of Indigenous music and musicians. “The awards have been there not just to celebrate their successes, but to be a launching pad for new talent and discovery vehicle for musicians, whether they are from Darwin, Devonport, Derby, Dubbo or the Daintree.”

NIMAsThis year is also worth celebration considering the accomplishments of Indigenous musicians this past year. In the past year, Indigenous artists have released number one albums, placed throughout the Hottest 100, and represented Australia at Eurovision.

The awards take place August 11 at the Darwin Ampitheatre. A full list of performers and finalists can be found below.