The National Live Music Awards will return for a second year in 2017, while arts writer and music critic Kate Hennessy has joined the Board.
Hennessy replaces Maggie Collins, who has stepped down to focus on her duties with BIGSOUND.

Three months ago, the inaugural National Live Music Awards (NLMAs) were held at venues in every State and Territory around Australia – handing out no less than 51 awards to the finest musicians, events, venues and music industry professionals around the country.

Along the way the event welcome over 1,000 guests around the country, saw reach of more than 2 million online as the hashtag #NLMAs trended on Twitter and streamed live on Facebook, and raised almost $1,000 for the charity Support Act.

Today, the NLMAs confirms it will return at the end of 2017 for its 2nd Annual event, revealing the details of the new application process and announcing a new board member.

For the first time, artists and their representation will be able to connect NLMAs Judges via a new form on the official NLMAs website (

The form encourages artists to provide live videos as well as information on upcoming shows that judges may be able to attend. The goal is to provide a more inclusive awards, as well as further spread the scope of the event around the country, across artists of all genres.

Venues and Events also interested in placing themselves on the judges’ radar will also be able to connect for consideration. Full details are available now at

The NLMAs are also thrilled to announce today that renowned arts writer and music critic Kate Hennessy will be joining our Board, replacing Maggie Collins, who is stepping down to focus on her duties with BIGSOUND.The National Live Music Awards’ Director Larry Heath  said of the new appointment, “I send my sincerest thanks to the amazing Maggie Collins for her invaluable work on the inaugural event, and wish her the best in everything coming up for her in the year ahead.”

“I am thrilled though to welcome Kate to the team. I’ve personally relied on her as a trusted voice in the media landscape for many years, and that will be a voice we look forward to engaging with on our board as we develop our 2017 event and look to the future.”

Kate joins 10 other sitting board members who are:

Damian Cunningham (Audience and Sector Development Director, Live Music Office)
Dean Ormston (Head of Member Services, APRA AMCOS)
Emma Coyle (Industry Development Manager, Music SA)
Emily Collins (Executive Officer, Music NSW)
Joel Edmondson (Executive Officer, Q Music)
Katie Noonan (Musician)
Laura Harper (Chief Executive Officer, Music Tasmania)
Mike Harris (CEO, WAM)
Paris Martine (Contrary Music)
Simon Collins (Music Editor, The West Australian)
Further details about the National Live Music Awards will be revealed later in the year, and to learn more about the event, head to You can also find us at the updated username @NLMAs17 across Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. The event’s official hashtag is #NLMAs.