APRA AMCOS and the Australian Guild of Screen Composers have today unveiled their list of nominees for the 2017 Screen Music Awards, with a wide variety of composers being recognised for the work over the past year.

With awards being handed out for musical contributions to television, film, documentaries, and advertisements, as well as awards for being the most performed screen composer both locally and internationally, a huge amount of contemporary musicians have this year received recognition, in addition to some of Australia’s most renowned screen composers.

Nominations of note this year include Briggs, who is nominated for his work with the Fox League Super Saturday television theme, and Missy Higgins for her song ‘Torchlight’, from the film from Don’t Tell.

Sarah Blasko, Daniel Johns, Dustin Tebbutt, and Josh Abrahams are just some of the contemporary acts to have also been nominated for awards, while some of Australia’s better-known composers, such as Lisa Gerrard and Cezary Skubiszewski are also in the running this year.

Impressively, a large amount of musicians are nominated for multiple awards, including Jed Kurzel of Sydney band The Mess Hall, who has received three nominations for his work on Alien: Covenant and Assassin’s Creed. Likewise, Antony Partos and Elliott Wheeler have also received three nods.