The 2019 edition of South By Southwest is shaping up to be a big one, with the festival today announcing another round of stunning artists heading to the US next year.

Just last month, SXSW announced its first round of acts heading stateside next year, with 18 Australian artists – and eight Kiwi musicians – making the cut.

While industry insiders around the world are set to be blown away by the likes of Skegss, Bloods, and WAAX, another bunch of talented Aussies have made it onto the second round of artists announced today.

While the full list of Australian and New Zealand acts headed to Austin, Texas next March won’t be announced until January, SXSW have today unveiled a list of seven Aussie acts, and one lone New Zealander heading overseas next year.

With triple j favourites like Odette and I Know Leopard set to represent our local scene, we’ll also see artists such as Vacations, Denise le Menice, Haiku Hands, and Emerson Snowe – formerly of Brisbane group The Creases – flying the Aussie flag.


“A great showing of top talent being announced at the same time as the ARIA Awards,” explained SXSW Australasia’s Senior Development Manager Phil Tripp. “But these export-ready bands are the next wave of talent hurtling across the Pacific, fuelled by Austrade’s 15 year involvement in supporting export music, Sounds Australis’s decade of being the peak body for exporting artists.”

“Plus SXSW has had the continuing support of state based music organisations such as MusicNSW, MusicVictoria, MusicSA, WAM, Music Tasmania, MusicACT, MusicNT, APRA and the Australia Council as well as state government arts bodies.”