Back in June, Rockin’ The Puburbs announced it was giving New South Wales musos the chance to get a leg-up into the world of Aussie music and its highly sought after pub stages. Now, the band comp has announced the finalists for its inaugural edition.

The winner for this year’s Rockin’ The Puburbs is set to receive a prize that most musos could only dream of, including a run of gigs at some of NSW’s leading pubs, $2,5000 towards a tour publicist, and mentorship from APRA AMCOS Ambassador Mark Lizotte, better known as Diesel.

The winning act will also see their name on the bill for the AHA NSW Awards for Excellence, and to sweeten the deal, they’ll also get paid for their performance too.

“I’ve been playing in pubs since the age of 14,” explained Mark Lizotte, “and they’ve played an integral part in my development as a musician, providing an environment in which to work on my craft.  Live music in pubs is part of the Australian landscape and in 2017, more than ever, we need to acknowledge and nurture the culture we have created for the future.”

APRA AMCOS and the Live Music Office opened up entries to Rockin’ The Puburbs a few months back, and now after over an amazing 300 entries from loads of talented NSW acts, a list of ten finalists has been decided upon.

In with a chance to win this year’s event is the likes of Abbey Gardner, Hurst, Rackett, Little Coyote, and Mary Handsome. Needless to say, all of these acts are immensely talented, but at the end of the day, only one can be crowned the winner and will take home this money-can’t-buy experience.

The winner for 2017’s Rockin’ The Puburbs will be announced on November 8th, but in the meantime, check out the full list of finalists below.

Rockin’ The Puburbs Finalists 2017

Abbey Gardner
Bad Pony
Josh Needs
Little Coyote
Mary Handsome
Mogadishu Family Band