The 2017 National Indigenous Music Awards were handed out in Darwin on Saturday night, with a long list of winners being recognised for their contributions to Indigenous Australian music over the last year, including helping to further Indigenous music in mainstream Australian culture.

The night’s big winners included Troy Cassar-Daley, who won the award for Artist Of The Year, while A.B. Original won the award for Song Of The Year, with their track ‘January 26’, which featured Dan Sultan.

A.B. Orignal won two of the four awards they were nominated for, with the group also taking out the award for Film Clip Of The Year. Likewise, Cassar-Daley also won two of the three awards he was nominated for, taking home the award for Album Of The Year as well.

The New Talent Of The Year award was given to Electric Fields, while the Community Music Clip Of The Year award went to ‘Save the Water (Ngaba)’, by the Halls Creek Indigenous Hip Hop Project.

The Traditional Music Awards were handed out to the Numbulwar community’s Numburindi Festival 2016, the Numbulwar’s Mardayin Skin Ceremony 2016 and the Wangga Complete CD set.

The festivities of the event also ended on a somber tone, with a tribute to the recent passing of Dr. G Yunupingu. The tribute included speeches and musical tributes recognising his life, as not only an amazing musical artist, but also as the National Indigenous Award’s most awarded artist over their nine-year history.